C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Very Basic Interior Trim Paint Questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2022, 12:47 AM
roamin' around
Racer

Received 35 Likes on 26 Posts
Default Very Basic Interior Trim Paint Questions

So I have my interior semi-apart as I continue searching for my battery drain, wondering how I can refinish the black paint in the interior parts as you can see in the pictures. My very basic questions (this is my first time repainting car trim):
  • Do you need to strip off existing paint, if so, what's the process/product recommended to do this?
  • How do you clean the parts beforehand, do you use just rubbing alcohol?
  • Do people do spray paint or paint on with a brush? Do you need any kind of primer?
From my search on the forum, people like a few different paints (Krylon 1613 semi-flat black, Dupli-Color "satin black", John Deere Blitz black, SEM 39143 Trim Black, Rustoleum Satin Canyon black). I'm planning on trying the Rustoleum Satin Canyon black since it is relatively affordable and available locally.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

peeling paint

paint around air vents is peeling

Popular Reply

02-04-2022, 08:16 AM
69L88
Melting Slicks

Received 1,220 Likes on 762 Posts

I found this Rust-Oleum product to be a perfect match to the original sheen. It is a primer and paint so it is a one step application.

I stripped off all the original paint, then cleaned with lacquer thinner, scuffed with a grey Scotchbrite pad, taped and sprayed 3 light coats, about 10 minutes between coats.

Take your time and be sure to get into the corners to clean every surface to ensure good adhesion.

53 years of use

Stripped, cleaned, scuffed, taped.

The best match (and I’ve tried several others)

Ready for another 53 years!
Old 02-04-2022, 08:16 AM
69L88
Melting Slicks