C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Overheating in traffic... Should I worry?

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2021, 03:33 AM
mlauritsen
Advanced

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Overheating in traffic... Should I worry?

I recently bought a 1973 BBC 'vette, and I was on a longer (1 hour) drive last week, and got stuck in traffic.

I'm a newbie (that was literally my second time out in the car), and so I didn't know what to look for until it was too late.

The engine overheated, and boiling coolant gushing onto the motorway as well as steam from the hood was my hint that it was time to pull over.

How worried should I be? I stopped immediately when things went bad, let it cool down, and I had some water with me to top it up before getting back on the road.

First part of the question relates to the incident - the car drove home fine afterwards, and I have since added 5 liters of distilled water (I will get the cooling system checked, drained and refilled with a known substance - previous owner could not tell me what's in there). What damage could I have done to the engine?

Second part of the question is why did it overheat? What are the obvious things to check? So far, from friends, I've heard "check the timing" and "replace the thermostat to be sure", which is a good start, but what else will cause overheating? It's a 454 CWR, and somebody opined that these are prone to overheating, but does that mean I should accept it?

Thanks for any input!

Ps. I felt very stupid standing on the side of the road with a gushing engine... I'm definitely going to keep an eye on the temp and pull over before the overheating next time. I'm a newbie, and I very much appreciate any info you can give me. I'm here to learn, so feel free to call out anything I should have known or done.
Old 05-04-2021, 05:39 AM
4-vettes
Le Mans Master

Received 4,556 Likes on 2,755 Posts