C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1982 Crossfire to FiTech Swap

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2020, 09:00 PM
Christopher Hartkopf
7th Gear
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 1982 Crossfire to FiTech Swap

I'm currently working on swapping from the stock crossfire system to a FiTech system. The only thing I havent really tackled is fuel. I need to figure out the best way to connect the stock fuel lines to the fitech system, which I can do with some flexible hose, but I don't know what fittings to use. I have never worked on a vehicle fuel system before (unless you count HMMWVs and HEMTTs) and I can't figure out what the stock fitting sizes are going into the crossfire throttle bodies. If someone could link directly to a fitting that would adapt from the stock fitting, to a 3/8 barb and clamp style hose that would be great.
Old 11-15-2020, 09:12 AM
Jeffs82c3
Safety Car

Received 218 Likes on 126 Posts

Old 11-17-2020, 09:08 AM
trevorhowe1212
Instructor

Received 21 Likes on 17 Posts

Working through an efi conversion on my 80 now. I'm not exactly sure how the 82's are set up or whether the method you are proposing is the best way to do it. Because I'm definitely no fuel line expect either! But to answer your questions exactly, the fitting in the picture is an male inverted flare and I think its 5/8" (90%confindent on the size so you should double check). Speedway is a great resource for fittings. Here is a couple links to fittings that will get you from the 5/8 IFF to a -6an(3/8) hose barb. This type of hose barb is what is typically used with pressure fuel line such as Vaporguard which is very common to use for this EFI conversions. Make sure you sure the correct type of clamp, not your off-the-shelve worm clamp.

https://www.speedwaymotors.com/Frago...FF,373283.html
https://www.speedwaymotors.com/Earls...ch,272641.html