C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Installed new Edelbrock carburetor on my 79, it started up but won't stay running

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2020, 03:02 PM
snapfade
3rd Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Installed new Edelbrock carburetor on my 79, it started up but won't stay running

Let me preface this by saying I'm an inexperienced wannabe mechanic, education from Youtube University.

I installed a new Edelbrock 1406 carb and manifold adapter kit to replace the original Quadrajet carb. Before I cranked it up I also set the initial timing. The first time I tried to crank it up it started but the engine idled super low, and when I stepped on the gas it wouldn't even get to 1000 RPM then it died after maybe 20 seconds. After that I was unable to get it started again after at least a dozen attempts. I put fuel in the tank, I could see fuel flowing through the filter, the timing should be good....what are some other things I should check? I'm lost. Thanks in advance!
The following users liked this post:
73Reprise (01-21-2020)
Old 01-21-2020, 04:04 PM
Sigforty
Le Mans Master

Received 275 Likes on 232 Posts
Cruise-In IX Veteran

How did you set the timing before you cranked it? There also should be a screw on the carb for idle adjustment. It could be a choke adjustment causing your issue. I am not familiar with Edelbrock carb setup.
Old 01-21-2020, 04:23 PM
snapfade
3rd Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I am 100% sure I had it at TDC and distributor rotor pointed at 1 cyl. I didn't mess with the idle screw yet. I will adjust that. I guess I assumed the carb out of the box wouldn't need much tuning.
Old 01-21-2020, 04:48 PM
Stoge
Race Director

Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts

Have you pulled a couple spark plugs to see if they're gas fouled?
Old 01-21-2020, 04:59 PM
Sigforty
Le Mans Master

Received 275 Likes on 232 Posts
Cruise-In IX Veteran