C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cutting composite leaf spring

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2019, 12:43 PM
Toadfree
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cutting composite leaf spring

Hi there
i need to lower my car because the new composite spring makes it site 2-3 inches higher but the longer bolts will hit my wheels and or tires because of the edge of spring
can I cut off 1/2 to 3/4 inch off?
if so what should it be cut with ?
thanks I am an amateur big time
Old 02-06-2019, 05:22 PM
MelWff
Race Director

Received 1,819 Likes on 1,608 Posts

Doesn't the end of the spring have a metal reinforcement around the hole?
where did you buy this spring?
people use longer bolts all the time with composite springs so it doesn't make sense that say an 8" bolt would hit the wheel if your camber is correctly set.

Last edited by MelWff; 02-06-2019 at 05:23 PM.
Old 02-06-2019, 05:41 PM
Toadfree
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by MelWff
Doesn't the end of the spring have a metal reinforcement around the hole?
where did you buy this spring?
people use longer bolts all the time with composite springs so it doesn't make sense that say an 8" bolt would hit the wheel if your camber is correctly set.

yes around the hole hole but not at the ends because of the wheels that are on it I was told it will hit the tire
or put 3/8 wheel spacers on
Old 02-06-2019, 06:17 PM
calwldlife
Team Owner

Received 762 Likes on 613 Posts
St. Jude Donor '22

weird
Old 02-06-2019, 06:18 PM
DUB
Race Director

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,321 Posts

I know I would not modify the hole due to possible fear of casing the spring to fatigue and split in time. ,maybe I am over thinking it. But with my luck if I did it I would have to buy the customer a new spring and have to deal with this stuff all over again.