C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Bleeding Vette brakes for first time

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2017, 04:32 PM
Rev Ron
Instructor

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Bleeding Vette brakes for first time

70 Stingray... 350 small block... 300 hp...

What brake fluid do I use? I am thinking Dot 4 or 5?

Is there a good/ better/ best way to bleed the brakes on this 70 Stingray? I read that the gravity method is best... jack the rear end up 15"... open all 4 bleeder valves... pour in the fluid... as each one starts leaking, tighten it up...when all four are tightened, the job is done. I've never done it like this before, so what do you say?
Old 05-12-2017, 05:21 PM
bradleyb66
Burning Brakes
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 129 Likes on 108 Posts

I've never heard of bleeding that way either. I recommend either doing it 'old school' with someone pumping the brakes as you're opening/closing the bleeders, or get either a vacuum pump to suck the fluid thru, or get a pressure bleeder that pushes the fluid thru.

Just make sure that you always do the bleeders the farthest from the master cyl first (don't forget that there are TWO bleeders on EACH rear caliper). I usually go around the car twice, especially if I've replaced a brake line or caliper...but that might not be necessary.

For brake fluid, I think Dot 5 is silicone based, so it's not advisable to mix it with Dot 3 or 4. I usually just use Dot 3....unless you're planning to do something like autocross that heats up the brakes...
Old 05-12-2017, 05:22 PM
corvetero
Pro

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts

As far as I know, DOT5 is silicon based, stay away from it. You should use DOT 3