C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

79 brake light and squishy peddle

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2017, 12:16 PM
ChaosPhoenixFix
Burning Brakes

Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
Default 79 brake light and squishy peddle

I know I've been MIA for a while, but hoping you all can help. I am not that good with brakes either. I have a 79 with my brake idiot light on on the dash. Brakes peddle went soft when it happened. I cannot find any leaks. When I remove cover from the master cylinder and pump the brakes I get fluid pushing up from the front hole, but nothing from the back hole. Is this normal? Could it be air in the lines and they just need to be bled?

Any and all help would be awesome as I PCS in a month, and I would rather drive her there than trailer her.

Last edited by ChaosPhoenixFix; 04-15-2017 at 12:17 PM. Reason: Spelling
Old 04-15-2017, 02:15 PM
righthanddrive
Racer

Received 59 Likes on 51 Posts

I would look into your proportioning valve, check all of your wheel cylinders again,and check your e-brake switch causing the light to come on.
Your master cylinder could be bad also.

There are ways of trying to reset your proportioning valve before buying a new one also.

You may be able to remove the wire to each of the switches to determine which one is causing the light to come also.

Definitely get the brakes working .

As I remember the back side of the master cylinder kicks in when the front ( primary ) well fails.

Good luck.
Old 04-15-2017, 03:13 PM
Peterbuilt
Le Mans Master

Received 1,251 Likes on 969 Posts
C3 of Year Finalist (appearance mods) 2019

Since you say that no calipers are leaking you might want to start by checking the master cylinder.
One way is to apply and hold pressure to the MC and see if the pedal slowly goes down.

Another way is to remove the front brake line at the MC and plug the MC port.