C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

"how-to-install" hydrobooster dial-up beware

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2002, 05:26 PM
71'AirStrike
Melting Slicks

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default "how-to-install" hydrobooster dial-up beware

I’m writing this post as a way to contribute to other members and I hope it helps. I by no means know everything. I am a simple weekend mechanic with faults. If there are any gross technical errors I hope some of the gurus will chime in to correct me. Fear not I have my flame suit on! :boxing

I purchased the hydratech braking system to solve my soft braking issue. My system is as follows: new vacuum and Master Cylinder from Ecklers (8 months old), Rebuild factory calipers w/ meticallic brake pads (8 months old), New plane jane disks from napa (8 months old), new rubber brake lines (8 months old).

The brakes would still work and lock up if the pedal went to the floorboard. Otherwise they felt mushy like my waist line.:cheers:

1: First things first. Jack up the car (I use 4 stands on the frame, and then use the jack itself on the front cross bar. This helps to support the weight of the motor from tweaking the frame). Be Safe, Be Smart.

2: Do a no-BS inspection of your braking and Power steering system. If either one is not up to par the Hydrobooster will not help. Look for leaks, drips, or something that is “just-not-right”. This is an excellent high performance braking system. If you have something wrong with the brakes to start, adding a hydrobooster could amplify the problem.

In my situation I gravity bled all brakes. I did this for 2 reasons, A: to make sure there are no air bubbles in the system. B: to use fresh clean fluid. In hind sight I should have used this opportunity to change over to a DOT 4 brake fluid as the directions suggested.