C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Exhaust and cam experts, what is your opinion of these "myths"?

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2015, 02:14 PM
REELAV8R
Le Mans Master

Received 1,034 Likes on 852 Posts

Default Exhaust and cam experts, what is your opinion of these "myths"?

http://www.x-pipe.com/Scavenge.html

Interesting read at least.
Oops double posted. Don't know how to delete the first one.

Last edited by REELAV8R; 01-04-2015 at 02:18 PM.
Old 01-04-2015, 02:41 PM
Les
Race Director

Received 961 Likes on 571 Posts

That's some pretty funny stuff there. I'm not an expert but many times over the years I've seen and felt the proof of how headers increase performance. Just a few days ago another forum member with an internally stock smallblock in his '72 Vette said that headers were easily the single best performance mod he had made.

I missed the part where the author of the article listed his credentials and the research he's done to back up his statements. Credibility counts and I'm not seeing it here. I did have a couple of laughs as I read it though.
Old 01-04-2015, 03:02 PM
tfi racing
Drifting

Received 26 Likes on 23 Posts

Someone should tell the engine builders in Nascar.The millions of dollars they spend in a year on cam, header and exhaust R&D is just a colossal waste of time and resources,they could have just hired this guy...
Old 01-04-2015, 09:29 PM
REELAV8R
Le Mans Master

Received 1,034 Likes on 852 Posts

Funny how you can read this guy's opinions and on another site I can find information claiming the exact opposite.
I read that keeping the exhaust stream speed up with small primaries helps with evacuation due to the pull it exerts from that speed/energy of the exhaust stream. However at some point the primaries are going to become a restriction to flow if they cannot handle the volume of gasses needing to escape.