C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Fuse Size For New Alt To Bat Wire in '81

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2014, 09:01 PM
Street Rat
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 529 Likes on 396 Posts

Default Fuse Size For New Alt To Bat Wire in '81

I'm in the process of putting a sound system in my 1981. I'm upgrading the positive wire from the alternator to the battery. I'm using 1/0 size wire. I want to add a fuse in the line near the battery.

I have read numerous posts over the last few hours. Some people say to size the fuse according to your alternator output. I have a 100 amp Power Master unit installed. Other people seem to be of the reasoning of sizing the fuse according to the size of the wire and it's capacity to flow current.

So my question is what size fuse do I need? I have an ANL fuse holder and will be using an ANL fuse.
Old 07-28-2014, 03:01 AM
Amorget
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

My non-professional advice. 1/0 can handle something along the lines of 150 amps. That being the case, I'd use a 100 amp fuse to put it in line with the output of the alternator.

Really the amperage you'd want is just slightly higher than what the curcuit should ever pull, but I'd think you'd be safe running a 100 amp fuse. I have a 1996 Chevy 2500 that I added a stock GM fuse holder to that goes between the battery and the main fuse box/rest of the truck. It's on a 4 gauge wire and is 100 amps as I recall and came from a Suburban of the same generation. I would guess that a modern(ish) Suburban is pulling a whole lot more amps than your 81.
Old 07-28-2014, 11:47 AM
7T1vette
Team Owner

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,271 Posts