C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

TriPower Engine idle issue

Old 05-29-2014, 09:32 AM
zuendler
Pro

Received 32 Likes on 17 Posts

Default TriPower Engine idle issue

Hi,
a friend of mine got a new 68 C3 BB with a Tripower on it.
It seems that it was originally a L36.

The Engine has a rough idle and shakes.

He asked me to help because I have some experience,
I checked this:

Ignition:
- vacuum advance canister is working and is full pulled when 12Hg are applied (but the engine is only producing 8Hg in idle, what seems pretty low for me)
- timing adjustet to 36° @ 3000 and at idle we have 17°

Carbs:
- first cleand with running engine and carb cleaner, no improvement
- then adjusted the mixture screws, found that both need to be turned out ~1 turn. When turned more in the engine is going to die and vacuum also drops. When the screws were turned more out there is no change of the vacuum visible. The pointer needle is als flickering all the time. Only if you rev it up and let it come down you get a clean reading on the vacuum gauge. And then 15Hg vacuum is reached. But after some seconds the problems start again.

- (un)pluged the vacuum hoses to see differences. Found none. Only if you pull the hose from the PCV its sucking so much air that the engine is going to die. (While my Engine just revs up if you do so)

- sprayed brake cleaner around the carbs, searching for leaks. Found that it was reving up a bit when spraying to the socket of the rear carb.
So removed all 3 carbs, disassembled them into all parts, cleand everything inside and that holes and put them together again with new gaskets. But this didnīt solve the problem, despite now you can spray the rear carb outside without any rev changes.

- during the carb-rebuilt I saw that the throttle blades where much too far open.