C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Engine rebuild prep questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2014, 10:35 PM
indydoug
Racer

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Engine rebuild prep questions

Well the time has come for an engine rebuild, hopefully just the top end. My 1980 has the original L-48, completely stock down to the exhaust, less most of the emissions bolt-ons. I've had it three years and put 11K miles on it, total mileage is 85k. It always starts right up and idles smoothly, but I get a lot of blue smoke on start-up if it has been sitting all day. Most of the gaskets around the heads are perpetually damp, and I'm ready for more HP anyway. I am planning on new heads, intake, roller cam and exhaust. I also intend to keep the engine in the car.

My question is - what should I do before I start removing parts? This is my first time going deeper than the sheet metal. So far I have done the following:

- I added a quart of Marvel Mystery Oil to free up a stuck lifter (worked great!) I'm leaving it in for at least a few day to let the detergents do their work.

- Cooling system clean - running Prestone cleaner for a few days after draining everything, including pulling the plugs out of the block, busting through the wall of crud and letting out the chocolate milk. I'll keep cleaning and flushing until it drains clear.

- I plan on running a compression check and a leak down test to ensure the block is worth keeping. The is a good weather driver, will probably never see a track or dragstrip, so I don't plan on anything a stock block can't handle.

Is there any other prep work I should be aware of, keeping in mind I prefer to keep the block in the car?
Old 04-11-2014, 09:01 AM
jnb5101
Le Mans Master

Received 100 Likes on 92 Posts