C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Should I get a Spreader bar?

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2013, 09:16 AM
Brians1
Burning Brakes
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 13 Likes on 9 Posts

Default Should I get a Spreader bar?

Need some advice...I have an 81 I am about to change out all of the worn out rubber bushing to poly's. I have seen several images of guys who also run with spreader bars (like this one at ecklers:http://www.ecklerscorvette.com/corve...Product_Viewed

Since I'm new to C3's and GM's overall...is there a benefit? to me 100 bucks ins't bad to add to the strength and drivability, again if that’s what it will do
Old 12-31-2013, 09:48 AM
roadblock69
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

If you are subjecting your car to high "g" load situations there may be some limited benefit.
Old 12-31-2013, 09:56 AM
Rotonda
Burning Brakes

Received 85 Likes on 78 Posts

Do a search of the C3 Tech forum. There have been numerous threads about spreader bars. The posts range from 'CAN'T HURT' to 'GREAT IMPROVEMENT', with most responders saying that it helped their handling and stability. I have a spreader bar similar to the one from Eckler's on my 77.

"While you are at it" (famous C3 phrase!!) you may wish to consider changing to tubular upper A-arms that allow for an increase in caster. Most C3's lose this adjustment as frames sag over the years, the steering lightens up excessively and the car becomes twitchy and darty on the highway. These A-arms restore the caster adjustment and will allow 4 to 5 degrees caster. This was the single best improvement that I made to my suspension (apart from 17 inch wheels and modern tires).

Last edited by Rotonda; 12-31-2013 at 09:58 AM. Reason: spelling correction
Old 12-31-2013, 10:00 AM
74modified
Burning Brakes

Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts