C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help, engine sick, not sure what the problem is!

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2013, 02:34 AM
Haggisbash
Melting Slicks

Received 230 Likes on 198 Posts

Default Help, engine sick, not sure what the problem is!

The SBC 350 in my 70 coupe has developed a miss fire and is running unevenly especially at idle. The problem is only on the RH cyl bank.
Checked the AF ratio - at idle is 13.8 - 14.1
Checked idle vacuum - steady at 17in Hg.
Checked plug leads, points, all okay.
Compression - all 120 - 140 psi (approx as only have push in gauge and hard to hold in plug hole).
Have found that pulling the lead to No 8 makes the miss fire stop and the uneven running gets no worse.
Engine sounds mechanically quiet.
I'm stumped, could it be a lifter? I have no experience with hydraulic lifters. Or worse a cracked head or gasket problem?
Only other thing I noticed is that pressure builds in the radiator very quickly once the thermostat opens but there doesn't seem to be any fluid coming out overflow. Not sure how quickly the pressure normally builds as have never had the occasion to look before!
No sign of water in the oil or vice versa.
Old 12-18-2013, 07:15 AM
wajulia
Instructor

Received 18 Likes on 17 Posts

Start with the easy stuff, dist cap, spark plug wires, spark plug
Old 12-18-2013, 08:39 AM
garygnu
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

after you check the cap/rotor ,plugs and wires.pull the valve covers and check out the valve train for any thing loose .do a leak down test .
Old 12-18-2013, 02:31 PM
TimAT
Le Mans Master

Received 424 Likes on 385 Posts
C3 of Year Finalist (appearance mods) 2019

Check the resistance on that #8 plug wire.
Old 12-18-2013, 02:38 PM
Haggisbash
Melting Slicks

Originally Posted by garygnu