C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Steering Wheel Question

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2013, 12:06 AM
cheesenr7
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Steering Wheel Question

I have a 1976 Corvette telescoping and tilt column. I recently bought this car and went to test out the telescoping feature and to my surprise I was holding the steering wheel in my lap

There is a shaft coming out the back of the wheel and i tried to slide it back into the column but the steering wheel is not engaging and is spining freely. (Steering wheel was working fine before i pulled it off) I am not to familiar with steering columns. Any help?

Thanks
Nick
Old 11-05-2013, 05:16 AM
RodgerF
Instructor

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts

Many many years ago I was a mechanic in the USMC. As my Gunny would say, "obviously there's something wrong that ain't right!" Beyond that I can't be of much help. I just had mine apart and put it back together for a color change but can't quite get how the whole thing just came apart like that.

The shop manual shows how to service the steering column. If you don't have it, you'll need it. Can you post a pic of what all came off of the column? That may help in the diagnosis. Also, Jim Shea would be the one to contact for this. He is the guru for all things steering column related.

Good luck

Rodger
Old 11-05-2013, 05:43 AM
cheesenr7
Intermediate