C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cant seem to get brakes right!My

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2013, 10:18 PM
canomjm1a1
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cant seem to get brakes right!My

My 76 vette is giving me fits with the brakes! I can't figure what I'm doing wrong! I adjusted the booster pushrod to have a firm pedal! Problem is, about 5 miles down the road, brakes lock up and the pedal is rock solid! The instant fix is to back the master cylinder off the booster! Any ideas or procedures?
Old 03-17-2013, 10:23 PM
MrJlr
Race Director

Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts

Back off the push rod....power brakes should not be that firm.....variants in vacuum will cause that.
Old 03-17-2013, 11:28 PM
Trent Mayo
Instructor

I have been chasing this exact same problem for three years now (mainly because I was in school and didn't have time to work on it). Its been by far the most frustrating thing I've dealt with on my 75! My rear brakes are the ones that always lock down after about two miles, only to be temporarily fixed by bleeding the rear line at the master cylinder.
Old 03-18-2013, 01:08 AM
Mick71
Melting Slicks

Received 32 Likes on 15 Posts
St. Jude Donor '13-'14-'15,'21

Make sure there is freeplay between the pushrod and the master cylinder piston when pushing on the pedal. If not, the brakes will be on a tiny bit, getting them hot and compounding the problem.
Old 03-18-2013, 06:22 PM
canomjm1a1
Heel & Toe