C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Try HHO, Water plus Baking Soda=Hydrogen Gas

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2013, 11:08 AM
fontking1a
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Try HHO, Water plus Baking Soda=Hydrogen Gas

I've installed an HHO system on my 1969 427/435 4 speed. Essentially it's a "Brown's Gas" setup that makes hydrogen gas which either goes into the carbs at idle or the intake manifold at cruising. The hydrogen is made by mixing baking soda with distilled water and putting an electrical charge on it. I've been running this setup for over four years and average 16-17 mpg general driving. The car used to get 10 mpg or worse. I'm also able to run very nicely on regular unleaded gas. I heard about this one night while listening to talk radio. Some guys from "Water4Gas" were and it sounded too good to be true. I bought a kit on ebay for under $100 and hooked it up. It took less than an hour and as soon as I fired up the engine, it ran smoother and you could feel the additional power. My particular car takes 3/4 teaspoon baking soda to one mason's jar of distilled water. I've got a two jar kit. Every three to six months, I have to clean the jars and replace the water and baking soda. I'm on my second set of "coils". I wish the car would get 30 mpg but frankly 16-17 mpg is better than it was before. The car will ping a bit under a load in fourth gear going up a hill and even if I use super, it still does. It did ping before the HHO using only super and it pinged more then than it does now. Do a search on youtube for "HHO" or "water4gas" or "Brown's gas" and see what these guys have done. It really does work. You can go to my account and look at my recent post by "fontking1a". It's called ...."I'm Back". There are pictures of the car with the HHO installed.
Old 02-01-2013, 12:24 PM
Mike Ward
Race Director