C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I'm having issues with fuel pressure

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2012, 09:14 AM
Jdukes10
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I'm having issues with fuel pressure

I have a 78' corvette and my fuel pressure drops lower and lower as my car runs and it will finally just stall itself out after about 15 - 20 minutes. It starts off at around 7.5 to 8 lbs per foot ( I think thats the right unit for fuel pressure) and right before it cuts off it will be around 5.5 lbs per foot. I am by no means a mechanic but I am learning something new everyday. I believe I have narrowed my problem down to either the fuel filter or the actual fuel pump itself. If anyone has been through the same problem any helpful insight would be much appreciated. Also it doesn't have the stock motor in it anymore, it has a 454 in it now, but I don't think that would cause any of these issues.
Old 10-01-2012, 10:12 AM
BKbroiler
Le Mans Master

Received 706 Likes on 401 Posts

As for the pressure units, it's psi, pounds per square inch. As for your problem, we need more info. What happens at wide open throttle, what type of pump is it, elec or mech etc.
Old 10-01-2012, 10:22 AM
gcusmano74
Drifting

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

I wonder if you have a tank venting problem. Try popping the gas cap open when the pressure starts to drop, and see if that improves things.(Obviously, don't drive it like that, just idle it while parked.)
Old 10-01-2012, 12:04 PM
Jdukes10
3rd Gear

It is a mech fuel pump and it is fine anywhere from being wide open to just barely being on the gas, it only cuts off when it is at idle. I will give the gas cap test a try right now.
Old 10-01-2012, 01:35 PM
Matt Gruber
Race Director

Received 75 Likes on 51 Posts

does it have a fuel return line hooked up? they often get vapor lock without it.
Old 10-01-2012, 01:56 PM
lars