C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

73 Carb Problem

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2012, 09:03 PM
brad0700
8th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 73 Carb Problem

I have a 73 stock 350 vette with a quadrajet (divorced choke). I am a novice with carbs, but on start up it will idle roughly and stall whenever you press the gas. If you just let it sit for about 10 min, the idle will smooth out and it drives like a champ.

I'm assuming something needs to be done about the choke, but wanted to see if anyone has experience with tuning or working on divorced choke quadrajet.
Old 09-15-2012, 01:55 AM
JohnRR
Burning Brakes

Received 274 Likes on 183 Posts

I'm surprised no one has offered some suggestions yet. Posting a picture of your choke setup would help. Even a video with sound would be helpful.

Have you done anything else to the engine as far as a tune-up is concerned? Points, plugs, timing, etc.? Also, I suggest you do a search for "Lars" and you'll find lots of text about setting timing and tuning a carb.

Welcome to the forum!

John
Old 09-15-2012, 02:55 AM
jotto
Melting Slicks

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Can you post a picture so we can see is everything is hooked up correctly? Is this a new car to you or has the issue just started?

Send an email to Lars, the Qjet guru, V8FastCars@msn.com and ask for his papers on how to set up the carb and choke. He may well chime in when he sees this thread.
Old 09-15-2012, 09:49 AM
7T1vette
Team Owner

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,271 Posts

Adjust the choke properly. The details for all of the carb adjustments are provided in the Chevrolet Chassis Service Manual under "Fuel Systems".
Old 09-15-2012, 10:25 AM
lars
Tech Contributor
Support Corvetteforum!

Location: At my Bar drinking and wrenching in Lafayette Colorado
Received 4,920 Likes on 1,929 Posts

You may have 2 issues: