C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Starter Issue/Question

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2002, 02:39 PM
bigbobbyb
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Starter Issue/Question

Hello,

I have a rather embarrassing problem with my '78 Vette.

If I run the car for about 30 mins or so, until it is hot, and shut it off, then I try to restart, I just get a little click sound when I turn the key. If I wait for the car to cool down 30-60 mins, it starts right up. I know that the starter is only about an inch away from one of the exhaust pipes... is the starter solenoid getting overheated? Thoughts?

Thanks,

BigBobbyB [IMG][/IMG] [IMG][/IMG] [IMG][/IMG] [IMG][/IMG] [IMG][/IMG]
Old 05-16-2002, 02:44 PM
DavidOrr
Instructor

Default Re: Starter Issue/Question (bigbobbyb)

Not the solenoid but the starter itself. As it heats up the coils become loose. Several places sell heat blankets you can wrap the starter in to prevent this from happening. It's staring on my vette as well, not to mention I've had the same problems on Ford Trucks.
Old 05-16-2002, 03:33 PM
Woodstoc
Burning Brakes

Received 39 Likes on 30 Posts

A good way to check what is happening is to install a starter switch across the positive and control terminal of the selonoid. When it gets hot and won't start, turn your ignition switch on, hit the starter switch. If it starts, the problem is in your security system or neutral safety switch.

I spent a lot of time and money replacing starters, and other parts with the same issue. Turned out to be a neutral safety switch on the transmission that would only act up when it got hot from the transmission.

It could be a heat soak issue, but this is a cheap and easy way to find out.
Old 05-16-2002, 04:15 PM
Paul L
Team Owner

Received 93 Likes on 91 Posts