C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1982 CE issue.. strange one..

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2012, 11:46 AM
rexydg
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1982 CE issue.. strange one..

Howdy folks, new member here Have several vettes.

I just picked up an 82 CE that is in decent shape overall.

Needed some TLC of course and I have been banging on it for about 2 weeks now.

IOt is a crossfire and I have been having a strange issue with it.

I am a pretty competant mechanic. I have replaced both IACS, TPS, CTS, And that seemed to settle the majority of the issues down..until I make a right turn.

The car will start and run (on a whim it seems) It started right up this morning after I replaced the TPS as it was causing issues at idle.

It started cold, rocked up to about 1K, then settled in at 700rpm a minute or two later.

Everything seems perfect.

I drop it in gear and go... accelerates great, idles down fine.. then I make a right turn and bang. Everything shuts down... I try to start it and have no fuel.. there is fire but no fuel, nothing sprays at all.. nothing drops, nothing dribbles.

This has happened before and sometimes it would start again.. other times it won't but the common denominator is not a drop of fuel is reaching the engine.. and it is after a RIGHT turn.

Figured i would check and see if there is a common problem with a wire harness or some other issue that plagues this model.

Anyone have any ideas?? This thing is killing me here.
Old 01-28-2012, 12:43 PM
rexydg
5th Gear

OK.. well it decided to "run" again.. but there is all kinds of crazy nonsense going on.. the IACS will open and close the fuel will spit and sputter out of the injectors.. It will rev itself to over 2K and then cut off..

I have never seen such a mess.. wow.. it was running just fine this morning.. until I made that right turn.
Old 01-28-2012, 02:01 PM