C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First timer Head Gasket replacement

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2011, 11:43 AM
jkjazzsax
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First timer Head Gasket replacement

I blew the head gasket when the water pump failed and I'm going to be a first timer pulling the heads on my '78 L48. I'm kind of excited to learn more, and understand that if I HAD to perform this HG replacement on any vehicle in the world, the Chevy 350 is probably the best to start on.

I'm ordering parts from zip-corvette.com today. Getting this kit and replacing all the gaskets while I'm at it (Part# EN-100) : http://www.zip-corvette.com/ProductD...L2-SR&CTitle=&

I've never done this deep in an engine before. The limit of my mechanical ability in the past has been things like replacing components like water pumps, fans, alternators, distributor caps, plugs, brakes, etc... basic to moderate auto maintenance. I think I have the aptitude for it (and a good shop manual), but I'm hesitant to try and pull this off all by myself.

I'll try and take pictures along the way and show the progress, but for right now I'm planning on beginning the tear down and rebuild within the next week.

I do not think I'll have the heads checked to see if they are true, as the engine was rebuilt before I got it a while back (by the paint on the block I would suspect about 5-10 years ago).

I have an oil leak at the pan, so I'm replacing the gasket there too, which comes in the kit.

Any pitfalls I should think about before undertaking this? Anything else I should consider doing while I'm in there with the engine all torn apart? My budget is around $200 for the whole job.
Old 08-22-2011, 12:08 PM
jkjazzsax
Instructor

Looking down on the exhaust manifold, you can see where the exhaust leak was before, now it is leaking out water as well and not just exhaust