C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Stock Exhaust / Stainless Works Upgrade?

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2010, 07:36 PM
LuC3FeR
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Stock Exhaust / Stainless Works Upgrade?

Mechanically, I'm a total newbie, so I apologize in advance for any ignorance or stupidity regarding my assumptions / questions. I did run a search on this topic (and read for what seemed like hours ) but wanted to consolidate my thoughts/questions to ensure my understanding on this subject is current and correct.

I have a stock 74 convertible L82 4sp with 40K original miles. The mufflers are in rough shape (2/10 - one is rusted through, the other is on its death bed). The manifolds are in decent shape (6/10) and the pipes in between are worn but seemingly operational otherwise (5/10).

I plan to keep the vehicle as orignal as possible. She will never be professionally judged or trailored and I drive her as much as I can. I will be keeping the stock manifolds. Performance is important to me, but not at the cost of altering her "numbers matching" status.

My plan is to go with the Stainless Works 2.5" factory replacement system (piping, mufflers, and tips) from the manifolds back.

Questions:

1. The aluminized kit from Stainless runs approximately $380 before shipping. Are there any other vendors I should look at which have a comparable / superior set up? I don't mind paying more should the benefits justify the cost increase.

2. The kit does NOT include an x-pipe. Honestly, how much of a sound/performance difference does this make?

3. Should I decide to use an x-pipe, I noticed that Summit sells a universal piece for ~$80. Will this "work" in combination with the Stainless Works kit without too much modification/fabrication by the exhaust shop?