C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My extreme noob questions.

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2010, 10:10 PM
PUNISHER VETTE
Race Director

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Default My extreme noob questions.

go easy on me....i'm still learning.

I'll start with the ones that'll I'll need answers to the quickest. Just got my 1969 with a possible 70's 350 SB and i'm changing the fluids out before i start driving it some.

1. How much oil does one usually take? I definitely drained at least 10 quarts of oil out of it if not 11. Wasn't expecting that much as my 96 usually has 5-6....

2. I was going to drain/flush the radiator but didn't want to waste my time if it can't be saved. The radiator is rusty and there are some fins bent all over. Didn't know if i can sand blast the top/bottom and paint and know it'll still work well.

2b. Also the water pump is more rusty then most other things on the car. Is it worth trying to sandblast/paint without even knowing if it's still good or not, or is that another part worth just buying a new one?

2c. Is there a way to check the radiator fluid level? I don't see some kind of reservoir or place to check it....

3. How can i tell if i have power steering and/or power brakes?
Old 03-08-2010, 10:24 PM
Attfay Elleybay
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

2b - water pumps aren't expensive, just replace it.
2c - remove the radiator cap (when cold), you should see fluid.
3 - if it stops and turns like a newer car, you have power steering and brakes.

power steering pump is under the alt. if you have a belt going to it, it's got power steering.
Old 03-08-2010, 10:34 PM
76yellow
Burning Brakes

Received 37 Likes on 21 Posts

First of all, if you drained that much oil out you have a problem. (gas or anti freeze in the oil) Does the oil smell like gas ?