C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Bench Bleeding Master Cylinder

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2002, 04:26 PM
love to drive
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bench Bleeding Master Cylinder

I have no experience with brake master cylinder replacement so I was wondering if someone could guide me. Can the MC be bled without bleeder hoses? I thought I heard someone saying you can just put bleeder caps in the two holes and pump the rod until bubbles stop rising. Is this true? If not...where do I get bleeder hoses??

Thanks,
Ted
Old 03-01-2002, 04:38 PM
Pete79L82
Drifting

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Re: Bench Bleeding Master Cylinder (love to drive)

I have never seen a reason to bench bleed a master cylinder. The only reason to do that is so you don't have to bleed the rest if the car. Not a very good idea, especially on a Corvette as sensative as they are to air in the calipers. If you are putting on a new master cylinder take the time to bleed all the brakes.

[Modified by Pete79L82, 2:39 PM 3/1/2002]
Old 03-01-2002, 04:39 PM
Eddie 70
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 29 Likes on 19 Posts
Ci 6, 8 & 10 Veteran
St. Jude Donor '05-'06-'07-'08-'09-'10-'11-'12-'13-'14-'15

You can go to AutoZone, PepBoys or NAPA and they will have them if you tell them what you are doing.
Old 03-01-2002, 04:45 PM
gerry72
Safety Car

Received 41 Likes on 39 Posts

Default Re: Bench Bleeding Master Cylinder (Pete79L82)

If you don't properly bleed the master cylinder, you will forever be chasing a spongy brake pedal that no amount of caliper bleeding will make go away. It is not possible to bleed the master cylinder by bleeding the calipers. Get the bleeding kit from your local autoparts story or from Harbor Freight (their kit has a variety of adapters that make it possible to bleed just about any cylinder you'll come across).