C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

73 just got it now it won't start!

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2009, 06:43 PM
broth13
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 73 just got it now it won't start!

I just traded for my first vette. it's a 73 with the 5.7 350 and a turbo 400 auto trans. i'm very new to this and i need help because shortly after driving it home, it began dying on me. at first it died when i came to a stop sign, but then it started dying even when i was cruising. i called the guy who sold it to me, and he came out to help when i could restart it and i was on the side of the road. he replaced the fuel filter and flushed some rusty water out of the hose saying that was the problem. after he did that it ran great, but about 3 miles later after we went on our way, the problem came back! it looks like the carb isn't opening up right, but like i said i'm new to this thing so i'm not sure. now i can't even get the thing running at all.

it appears like the problem lies in the fuel system, but i don't know exactly where.

does anyone have any idea what is causing this?

thanks
Old 02-14-2009, 06:54 PM
Kevin_73
Le Mans Master

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Cruise-In X Veteran
St. Jude Donor '09-'11

Originally Posted by broth13