C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Power steering in an LS1 swap

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2009, 08:54 PM
mg267
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Power steering in an LS1 swap

Hi everyone..

I've already posted a similar question on this forum a few weeks ago..

I have a 69 coupe, with an LS1 from an 01 camaro swapped in. It currently has no power steering. I was talking to my mechanic friend about my desire to get power steering, and he was STRONGLY against it, saying among other things, that the way the car is now, it was not built for power steering, and I'd have to change the wheels, and suspension, and basically the car would be vunerable to spin out at high speeds bc its not made for steering at those speeds. He also said that it would be a HUGE expense as far as parts and labor. I am not technically savvy to do the process myself so I would have to go to a shop to get it done, and he said who knows how much they would end up charging...

For the most part 'ive always trusted my mechanic and he's always been very accurate in his assesment of my car issues, but I am wondering in this case if he doesnt really know what he's talking about? What do you guys think. Do you think its possible to do, without some ridiculous labor and costs.?

I want this car to be my daily driver, and lack of power steering is the only thing that makes this less feasible..(i have to do a decent amount of city driving and parking, and parallel parking this guy is no fun!)

thank you all for your help and input
mg
Old 01-07-2009, 09:18 PM
72LS1Vette
Safety Car

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Originally Posted by mg267
Hi everyone..

I've already posted a similar question on this forum a few weeks ago..