C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

#4 Body Mount Question

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2008, 11:09 PM
wjsullivan
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default #4 Body Mount Question

So far my frame has been very good in terms of rust but the birdcage has some 'opportunity' areas. I'm just getting started with replacing the body mounts and went to pull the #4 on the passenger side and encountered the following issues:
1 - After multiple days of the nut sitting in a pool of PB Blaster it still didn't budge and pulled through the fiberglass. The nut was rounded off significantly so the hole hasn't been enlarged very much and will hold sufficiently with a good size washer and after the replacement of the reinforcement.
2 - The mount on the frame is rusted out and needs to be replaced or patched.

Question:
Is it possible to fix the frame mount without pulling the body? There is some clearance, so I would say it could be patched. But I don't think it could be replaced as the rear section of the body is too close.

One issue is that I don't weld, so I have to find someone who can I can hire to do it.

Thoughts?
Old 02-08-2008, 11:25 PM
Scott Marzahl
Le Mans Master

Received 194 Likes on 149 Posts

You could either weld in a new #4 bracket or patch the old one. Not seeing how bad it is makes it hard to comment but it can be done with the body on.

If you have to, you can pop off the back splash shield and glue it back on when the job is done.

http://blog.scottsvettetalk.com/2007...nt-repair.aspx
Old 02-09-2008, 01:01 AM
chris73cpe
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post