C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Grinding sound grinding my nerves

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2007, 08:38 PM
reidclif
Proud Hoosier
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Grinding sound grinding my nerves

I am new to Corvettes and not much of a mechanic. If fact I have been the proud owner of a 1979 Vette owner for exactly four weeks tomorrow.

Anyway, my car makes a pretty loud grinding (or maybe more of a crunching) sound on turns or up hills only after it is warmed up and only after applying the brakes. The brakes do not grab when being applied.

I thought the problem might be with the rear end but my mechanic said the rear end was fine. He said the passenger side rear bearings needed replacing. He did that but the grinding is still there.

What else could it be?
Old 12-23-2007, 08:45 PM
VettePower
Melting Slicks

Sounds like you need to drain the rear fluid and refill with new posi-lube and gear oil.......And get a new mechanic!!!
Old 12-23-2007, 09:37 PM
0Willcox Corvette
Former Vendor

Received 1,813 Likes on 1,458 Posts
St. Jude Donor '08-'09-'10-'11-'12-'13-'14-'15

Cliff,

You should have run this by me when you were at the store the other day.

The rear end, if a posi traction unit will make a popping sound if the clutches are sticking and you are turning around a corner. When you try to turn a corner the clutches should not bind at all, but if they are sticking on the car you will hear a loud popping noise from the rear end tracking around the corner at the same radius. “I’ve always called this Duck Waddle”. It feels like the rear end is trying to scoot around with the popping noise and you should be able to feel it as well as hear it if they are really bound.