C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What makes an 81 intake manifold unique

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2001, 01:04 PM
Joebatz
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What makes an 81 intake manifold unique

I know that the intake manifold for an 81 is unique for that model year only. What I don't know is what makes is unique.
I need a replacement manifold and Edelbrock recommends their model 3701. However, my concern is that it will not be
compatible in some way with my current manifold.

Anyway, I have no doubt that someone on here knows exactly what the issues are!

Thanks to all.
Old 11-05-2001, 01:20 PM
Marks69BB
Melting Slicks

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Re: What makes an 81 intake manifold unique (Joebatz)

I'm not an expert on later sharks, but since 81 was the first year of the computer chip and that 82 has the crossfire setup, I would say that adding the computer related stuff made the intake unique to that year. Hopefully, someone who has an 81 will comment on aftermarket intake compatibility. Good luck! :cheers:
Old 11-05-2001, 01:24 PM
Easy Mike
Team Owner
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,469 Likes on 1,248 Posts
Cruise-In II Veteran

Can't say for sure, but the '81s run the electronic Q-Jet. The manifold might have additional fittings for senders/sensors.
:)
Old 11-05-2001, 01:51 PM
UKPaul
Safety Car

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

I can't tell you what makes it unique as my '81 is normal to me & it's all the others that are different :crazy: