C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Alignment at Home

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2006, 10:53 PM
Tim81
Burning Brakes

Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts

Default Alignment at Home

Ok here is one for all of the engineers in the group. I'm thinking about attempting my own front-end alignment using a simple level attacked to the front wheel for adjustimg Camber. My question is how do I convert my measurements into degrees? I have 15 inch wheels. I 've read that this can be done but not sure about the conversion. Can anybody help me out here? Thanks and I hope everyone has a Happy New Year.
Tim
Old 12-30-2006, 12:05 AM
birdsmith
Melting Slicks

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I'm not an engineer, I don't play one on the radio, and I didn't stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night, BUT I do know that if you get a big piece of paper and a protractor you can lay out on paper just how many inches or fractions of inches a degree is over, say, a fifteen-inch span, or whatever your wheel diameter happens to be. Understand also that it really helps a lot to have an absolutely FLAT garage floor when attempting this at home and also that changes in camber settings affect toe (more negative=toe-in, more positive=toe-out).
Old 12-30-2006, 08:37 AM
jnb5101
Le Mans Master

Received 100 Likes on 92 Posts

i'm not completely sure if i understand your question, but if you have 15" wheels you can calculate the circumference(pi * c). then divide that by 360(number of degrees in a circle). that will give you the number of inches per degree. or you can divide 360 by the circumference to get degrees per inch.
Old 12-30-2006, 08:40 AM
kb2fzq
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Tim81