C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Quadrajet Frankenstein runs! sort of

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2006, 04:51 AM
Bob Onit
Melting Slicks

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Default Quadrajet Frankenstein runs! sort of

Well I used some of the parts I picked up saturday to throw together a QJ for my 73 L-48

My original 1973 QJ float bowl which has stripped ball check threads was not rebuildable so I used a 71 float bowl with my original 73 throttle plate and original 73 air horn.

I cleaned it out the best I could with carb cleaner , (I dont know what type of solvent is used to soak a carb in, nor do I have the proper equipment)and blew it out with compressed air.

The throttle shafts were tight so I diddnt need to bother with them (good thing because I have no experience bushing them either

Long story short, I installed 73 main jets/43 pri rods and DR sec rods and a set of long tapered Idle screws.
Set the float @ 3 1/8" new Acc pump and put it together.

I honestly diddnt think it would run at all but Im trying to learn all I can about these carbs so I gave it a shot.

Keep in mind that I have advanced Lymes disease-over 14 weeks so everything is a major chore

Mounted the carb, fired it up and it was pretty good but a bit rich at idle as I could see the smoke coming from the exhaust tips

Adjusted the curb Idle with a vacuum gauge and it leaned out nice

TEST DRIVE!
The carb ran as good as the two others I have which run great and are set up with the exact same rod/jet combo (which made it easier for me)

Anyhow I was very impressed for about 5 miles
Then the QJ gremlin showed up
It started running rich, barely idleing but the top end was still ok...

So.... what happend?
Ill believe anything at this point.
Im learning!
Old 07-25-2006, 05:33 AM
Little Mouse
Le Mans Master

Received 94 Likes on 81 Posts