C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

AFR meters

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2006, 03:10 PM
jotto
Melting Slicks

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Default AFR meters

Have been reading various posts about timing and ignition as well as car setups and alot of members are using meters to get the air to fuel ratio results. Im assuming this means you can tube your carb more accurately.

Is an AF meter a nessecity or just something that should be considered for high output, modded engines. Not sure how much one of those babies cost but it may go on my wish list which seems to be growing by the day.

Im fairly new to tuning and getting the Vette running sweet but I like to do a job properly if Im going to do it at all.
Old 06-07-2006, 03:25 PM
BigBlockk
Drifting

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You don't have to have one of these to get your car running good. They do help to get a razor sharp tune. This could help the beginner if you know how to read the results and know the systems within the carburetor.

BigBlockk

Later.....
Old 06-07-2006, 03:32 PM
jotto
Melting Slicks

I have seen that you should have various air/fuel ratios at idle cruise and WOT and that one of these meters will help tune/jet the carb for this.

Is there a reasonably cheap one that you can use between cars, ie stick a probe in the tailpipe instead of using a fixed probe welded into the exhaust?
Old 06-07-2006, 03:35 PM
Solid LT1
Le Mans Master

Received 33 Likes on 28 Posts

LM-01 AFR is what I use. They are sold through Summit or Jegs, I would recommend the RPM/data logger output set-up too.
Old 06-07-2006, 04:29 PM
griffths
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by Solid LT1
LM-01 AFR is what I use. They are sold through Summit or Jegs, I would recommend the RPM/data logger output set-up too.