C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Settle in for a good laugh (a.k.a. what have I done?)

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2006, 05:24 PM
pingdashf
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Settle in for a good laugh (a.k.a. what have I done?)

Ok, so about once every 6 months I get the ***** to work on my car myself. I have no mechanical knowledge and the following story is going to prove that I am worse than bubba!

My carb is broke. I have talked with lars and I was going to send it to him, of course I'm an idiot and didn't get it to him before his deadline. But that is another story. I tried to take the carb off and in the process broke a lot of things. It's just four bolts right?

Well, before I undo the four bolts, I thought i'd remove the fuel filter line. To do so there were a couple of hoses plugged into some blue thing that were in the way. So i pulled them off.

Oops. What have I just broken? And yes, after breaking the first one I thought, "well, the second one wont break".

But, hey, so I have one little blue broken thing, I can still take the carb off since that was the mission in the first place (now i'm starting to forget why I want the carb off if I can't send it to lars, but i'm on a mission).

I guess I could have noticed that the fuel line was twisting, but, I didn't. Now what I have broken?!?

I quit. Anyone want this car? My manhood has been shattered and I have no idea what to do. Anyone know a traveling mechanic since I obviously can't get this to a shop now. I'm going to go cry now.
Old 04-01-2006, 05:44 PM
Star79
Melting Slicks

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Are you sure YOU broke that? Maybe it was the family of squirrels living under your hood that did it

(seriously though, you haven't busted anything that important yet. Vacuum parts can go, and gas line can be replaced)
Old 04-01-2006, 05:45 PM
onaqwst
Le Mans Master