C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking for 1981 engine performance advice and Q-jet Rebuilder suggestions.

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2006, 12:29 AM
Jchrisd
Advanced

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Looking for 1981 engine performance advice and Q-jet Rebuilder suggestions.

Let me begin by saying my name is Chris and I own an 81 vette.
I am a dealership flat rate tech for the last 13 years, but I worked for FORD and ACURA, not GM.
Anyway, here is my situation. I purchased an 81 Vette on EBAY site on seen. So I wasn't using my head that day.. Anyway, it is a really nice LOOKING car, but under the car is a different story. To make a long story shory, I took the thing to work, and almost passed out when I put it on the lift.WOW, what a mess.
80% of the mess is now fixed thanks to a saw zaw and alot of new parts and alot of time pissing off my boss working on my own car in my bay.HA HA HA.
Now to get to my first question. Then engine in my car is bone stock, and EVERY LITTLE piece of everything is intact. County Corvette told me it is one of the cleanest engine compartments they ever saw on an 81. Problem I have is that the car is a slug, and I mean slug. The big reason is that the CARB is in need of an overhaul, and I don't mean just putting a rebuild kit in it. I am looking for someone who can dissasemble and properly clean and fix the wells, and the throtle shaft bushings need to be replaces, becasue they are leaking, ect. I am looking fo some suggestions on a good builder at a good price.( electronic carb). I have read about someone named LARS, but do not know how to get ahold of him.
Second question. I was considering giving myself some more power. I figured this.. The engine I think is 8.2-1 CP ratio. I have 76cc smog heads and a very small cam and an electronic carb.