C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

anyone know where to have stuff CNC machined?

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2005, 12:05 PM
Twin_Turbo
Race Director

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Default anyone know where to have stuff CNC machined?

I think there was some kind of online machine shop but I can't find it...from what I remember it was Desertdawg that had the link to it since he wanted a quote for the heatch brackets for 82 CE's

I don't like my steel caliper brackets so I want to have some milled from 6061-T6, I have a solidworks drawing of them ...anyone know a company that would be able to use that and mill a pair? BTW, anyone know how to export something in solidworks that can be used as a program in a CNC machine??? I'm new to this stuff...I've never used this before, only autocad which sucks.

Here's my solidworks model
Old 12-24-2005, 12:28 PM
jah1226
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default RE: anyone know where to have stuff CNC machined

Any machine shop with a small cnc lathe should be able to do the job. Since this is a relatively small part, and not that complex, so you should be able to give them a fully dimensioned 2-d drawing and have it done quickly. If you have access to Autocad, you should be able to import the solidworks drawing, then export the mass properties to the media of your choice, then take it to the machinist. In autocad this command is massprop, and then you can write the data to file. Nice drawing though.
Old 12-24-2005, 12:40 PM
big632
Burning Brakes

A way I do any piece. Make out of balsa wood and then duplicates in the material of choice.Make me a model and I can duplicate in alum exactly.
Old 12-24-2005, 12:49 PM
Twin_Turbo
Race Director

How are you going to replicate a wooden model? Isn't a design drawing much easier to do and more accurate?
Old 12-24-2005, 01:32 PM
0Corvette Engineering
Former Vendor