C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The Keisler Experience

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2005, 09:20 AM
Harleydude51
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The Keisler Experience

First, the intent of my post is to provide the facts of my kit purchase and install experience so you can make your own decisions. One note about my capabilities....I am an ASE Certified Master Tech with 25 years experience. With this in mind...here it goes.....

I purchased the TKO-500 kit for my '78 L-82. The car was already a 4spd. After a 5 week waiting period, the kit arrived and I was impressed with the packaging and labeling of the kit contents. I immediately noticed the driveshaft did not have any balancing weights welded to it. I called customer service and questioned this...the reply was "all of our driveshafts are spun to 10,000 rpm and balanced". I found this odd considering the equipment used to balance driveshafts only spin to a max of 3500 rpm, and, in my 25 years of working on cars...I personally have not seen a driveshaft that balanced perfectly without any weights (I have heard it does happen though). With this in mind, I accepted the statement the shaft was balanced.

The installation instructions are well written and allows a person with average mechanical skills to install the trans without having to remove the engine. It IS a tight fit...but it does work.

The kit is complete and all of the hardware required to perform the install is provided.

Once the install was complete, I took it for a test ride. I had a significant driveline vibration that would come in at about 70mph. I chased this vibration for over a month. I spent countless hours shimming and un-shimming the trans height to correct for an excessive u-joint angle (I also have extensive experience in setting driveline angles). I was never able to completely eliminate the vibration.