C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Engine Noise

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2005, 03:16 PM
swtato
Drifting

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
St. Jude Donor '05

Default Engine Noise

I am not a mechanic but I have an idea what the noise is. I was driving down the road and I started hearing what I thought was an exhaust leak, well the noise became more mecanical sounding and changed as I ccelerated. I get home and it is a ticking noise coming from what sounds like underneath the right side valve cover. Any suggestions?
Old 05-04-2005, 03:21 PM
Grinchia
Pro

Originally Posted by swtato
I am not a mechanic but I have an idea what the noise is. I was driving down the road and I started hearing what I thought was an exhaust leak, well the noise became more mecanical sounding and changed as I ccelerated. I get home and it is a ticking noise coming from what sounds like underneath the right side valve cover. Any suggestions?
Was a bad valve for me with the same symptoms. Pull the valve covers and have a close look at everything.
Old 05-04-2005, 03:27 PM
swtato
Drifting

St. Jude Donor '05

what will it take to fix the noise?
Old 05-04-2005, 03:35 PM
R. Bruno
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I know this sounds like a Bubba solution, but try pouring some Marvel Mystery Oil down the carb with the engine running. I used this stuff when I was a kid and recently tried it again on my tired SB after being reminded of its magical powers on the forum.
Old 05-04-2005, 05:20 PM
78pacer
Drifting

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I'd check the exhaust for leaks. If all sealed nice and snug, check your engine oil level (obvious huh?)...*S. Then if all is good and you still have the tapping noise, you could have a tappet gone south. pull the offending valve cover and look for oil delivery.
Mike
Old 05-04-2005, 11:41 PM
406shark
Instructor