C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

complete newbie to cars... but stingrays look so sexy

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2005, 11:16 AM
kurosh
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default complete newbie to cars... but stingrays look so sexy

I know absolutely nothing about cars (not unwilling to learn, just don't know how/where). I'm 18. I want to buy a car. I'm looking to spend between 5k-10k. I want something flashy, fast but also dependable. Is that possible??? I've always liked old vettes because they look so damn nice but if I get one, will I have a lot of trouble with it breaking down?? Should I get another type of car??

I've been looking on ebay and this looks nice: here
but then again, like I said, I don't know anything about cars.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Edit: Oh, and a manual is a MUST. I can't stand driving automatics.
Old 03-11-2005, 11:55 AM
Entropy
Team Owner

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
St. Jude Donor '08-'09

Welcome to the forum.

I took a quick look at the background on the car, and there is one glaring error. That car can't be matching numbers transmission and have the rock crusher tranny (the rock crusher is a muncie with close ratios and is heavy duty, my brother has one). That is generally labeled as option as M-22. If you look at the black book on corvettes, that option is not there. They might have the M-21, which is still a nice tranny, it just isn't heavy duty like the M-22.
I also noticed that it has an aftermarket stereo where the original stereo used to be. Not a wise idea if you are interested in keeping the original look.
The best thing you could do is drive to where the car is and drive it. Gut feeling is the best if you are really looking to buy without accepting all the headaches.