Sponsored by:

Newbie getting started..

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2022, 02:27 PM
jpillion
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie getting started..

So, I've been lurking on these forums for a while, and have learned a lot. But, what was once a "one day" is coming closer to a reality, so I thought I'd jump in here and say hi.

I'm a newbie to restoration, but a fairly mechanical guy. Grew up doing most work myself with my dad and father in law, and always done the mechanical repairs myself (injectors, suspension, and cv joints being the most involved I've done). A few ideas are converging now though, and I'm planning on going all in and rebuilding a C3. What's converging? I have three boys - older two are 8 and 10, and in love with everything mechanical. We've done some work (recently replaced all the fuel injectors on a L86), and they're wanting more. I want to give it to them, and help them build memories and education. Secondly, my wife has always loved well done classic cars, and loves the "rust to riches" type shows - though I think they've given her a false impression of the amount of effort going into it. She's been pressuring me to get a rustbucket and restore it. She's always eyed up the C3's and points them out of a crowd. And thirdly, I inadvertently acquired some shop space, which has been one of my barriers (where the heck am I going to work on something like this for the next x years??). I've got the space to work with, that is begging to be filled.