C3 General General C3 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Towing a Corvette. What type of trailer?

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2021, 06:42 PM
Gold Dragon
Burning Brakes
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 172 Likes on 141 Posts
Default Towing a Corvette. What type of trailer?

Planning a move. Need to pick up a trailer for my C3. I am a noob when it comes to towing and trailers. Wanted to find out what type of trailer other members are using and why.
Old 12-09-2021, 07:31 PM
forman
Drifting

Received 284 Likes on 216 Posts

uhaul has one with retractable fenders so you load the car then flip them up
The following 3 users liked this post by forman:
A10pilot (12-09-2021), LenWoodruff (03-16-2022), Pegan2261 (12-10-2021)
Old 12-09-2021, 07:34 PM
67:72
1967 Pedal Car Champion
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 2,014 Likes on 1,361 Posts

Are you talking buying or renting? I rented a U-Haul full car trailer many years ago for my '72 and it was no hassle.
Do you have a full-size pickup or Suburban-type vehicle? You'll need that to handle the combined weight of the trailer and car. Are you getting a U-Haul truck for the house or garage goods? The U-Haul trailer is well-suited for that and is the route I went.

You'll also need some advice for loading the car on the trailer for proper weight distribution so it's not squirrelly (and dangerous) on the road.
The following users liked this post:
Jebbysan (12-10-2021)
Old 12-09-2021, 07:38 PM
bluthundr
Burning Brakes

Received 172 Likes on 125 Posts

I towed mine from Texas to Indiana with a U haul truck and trailer - no issues
Old 12-09-2021, 08:26 PM
Driving69
Instructor
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 221 Likes on 95 Posts
2023 C3 of the Year Finalist - Modified

Agree with the U Haul trailer comments. I rented one and towed my 69 250miles (mostly interstate) without any issues. I wouldn't hesitate to do it again if I needed to.
Old 12-09-2021, 08:32 PM
drwet
Melting Slicks