Sponsored by:

Painted Rocker panels

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2019, 04:43 PM
croaker
Melting Slicks

Received 103 Likes on 94 Posts

Default Painted Rocker panels

Has anyone painted their Rocker Panels ? Looking for prep and maybe paint recommendations
Old 05-30-2019, 04:51 PM
Tampa Jerry
Le Mans Master

Received 1,335 Likes on 967 Posts

What year? The 68 and 69 were painted black. I have a nice set of 1970 and up sitting in my attic. Jerry
Old 05-30-2019, 05:16 PM
ignatz
Safety Car
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,139 Likes on 737 Posts

Painted mine with two part PPG to fade from black to silver. If I was a better painter I might have been able to smooth the transitions more but it still looks pretty good out in the daylight. This might work even if your body color is different.

Old 05-30-2019, 11:18 PM
7T1vette
Team Owner

Received 2,715 Likes on 2,273 Posts

GM painted them in the later 70's C3's. 68 & 69 panels were fiberglass. '70 and up were anodized aluminum.

Yes, you can paint them. But, you do NOT want to sand them to prep for paint. The anodized layer is for part strength and surface durability to withstand road-rash. Just use #0000 steel wool to buff the surface smooth, clean with lacquer thinner or other volatile cleaner, then prime and shoot.
The following 2 users liked this post by 7T1vette:
20mercury (06-03-2019), LenWoodruff (05-31-2019)
Old 05-31-2019, 06:06 AM
Rotonda
Burning Brakes

Received 85 Likes on 78 Posts

First, you need to strip (not sand) off the anodized surface. This surface makes the piece more shiny and harder, preventing many scratches and protecting against corrosion. It also seals the surface and eliminates the "tooth" that paint needs to adhere strongly.