C3 General General C3 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I can see the light at the end of the tunnel!

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2014, 01:30 AM
Lobzila
Pro

Received 105 Likes on 86 Posts
Default I can see the light at the end of the tunnel!

Another 1968 Coupe Restoration story,
Where do I begin? It began with my purchase of the car seven years ago. I bought a running and driving 68 Coupe in need of repair. It had the wrong motor in it, the paint was horrible, the interior showing its age, but it had potential and I was hooked.
I made a few modifications and repairs to it righ off the bat, tune up, water pump, tighten a loose bolt or two here and there and then I decided it was time to change the paint. I have a buddy who is a retired Corvette bodyman by trade who offered to do the paint and bodywork. Mine needed plenty of the later. It was a several hit body, some repairs were good, and some were done by bubba. All of it needed to be correct for the car to look good. As I planned on putting in a new motor, I pulled the 396 motor out of it and shipped it off to the paint shop.
My buddy would work on it when he could, he was running a bodyshop at the time and my house was under remodel so I really did not nag him too much about how much time he was taking on it. I was visiting the car five months later and noticed some surface rust on the frame. I asked him the magic words "how much more to pull the body off the frame? He cut me deal and off it came. Just for a goof, he even put in some re-inforcements on the frame to make it a bit stiffer.
I picked up the frame and suspension parts and had them sandblasted and powdercoated. Got them back and sent them to the shop. Now all my suspension was redone and looking good. The body was put back on it and my buddy gets let go from the body shop. He got the car and took it home and began working on it there in his home shop. All it needed was stripping and repair at this time.