Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Not another engine stamping question...

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2014, 07:29 AM
Bad Bird
Racer

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Not another engine stamping question...

Hi everyone,

I'm sure that people are probably sick of this question being asked, but...

Does my pad look okay? I don't have a feel for this really, but I'm worried.

Thanks very much guys.

Old 07-24-2014, 07:42 AM
Bad Bird
Racer

The car's birthday is November 23, 1968, according to the documentation that I have.
Old 07-24-2014, 08:25 AM
bashcraft
Le Mans Master

Received 109 Likes on 83 Posts

What are you worried about?
Old 07-24-2014, 09:24 AM
Eljay
Burning Brakes

Received 139 Likes on 90 Posts

Actually I love engine pads. Big block correct? While I do not see pronounced broach lines, I do not see milling swerl either. The fonts look ok. I'm no expert but I have looked at a few and I say ok. As we speak I'm involved in an intake gasket/minor detail of my engine. I was happy to find the correct head castings and dates under the valve covers and with the dissy out it is easy to see the back of the block for part number and date, and they are also good. I will take pictures before I put everything back.
Old 07-24-2014, 10:31 AM
LeMans Pete
Melting Slicks

Received 38 Likes on 22 Posts
St. Jude Donor '13-'14

I find engine stamp posts very interesting. And you took such a great picture. It seems, though, the more experience people have with them, the less they like to divulge.

My very novice, and worthless, opinion is that I think it is fine. 427/390HP. The "M" looks different than other Ms I've seen before, but I recently learned that Tonawanda had multiple versions of the same character.

I am assuming the faintness in half the 0, 8 and 4 is what concerns you?
Old 07-24-2014, 10:37 AM
Mike Ward
Race Director

Received 29 Likes on 27 Posts

I see nothing that would give me any concern.
Old 07-24-2014, 02:43 PM
emccomas
Team Owner
Support Corvetteforum!