Old Fart w/ No Experience '71 Resto

Old 07-17-2014, 04:00 AM
nwav8tor
Old Fart Pilot
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 342 Likes on 205 Posts

Default Old Fart w/ No Experience '71 Resto

Hello,

I've been lurking here for quite a while reading about various projects while I prepared to start my own. Jeremy, Roger, David, Kortensi, Chadillac2000, bwinterstine, Texas70, mac79vette and many others that have documented their restorations have motivated me to finally start the restoration of my '71 coupe. Inputs from the likes of Gary, Lars, Tracdog, Alan and others on the forum led me to believe I might actually be able to attempt this myself. With the help of this forum, I sure hope so!

First of all, an introduction might be in order. I'm a retired USAF pilot presently flying for a major US passenger airline. Presently 58 years old, I've done many things, but a frame off Corvette restoration isn't one of them! In fact, other than routine maintenance, I've never done anything like this.

My brother purchased the car new and I bought it from him around 1978. It was a daily driver until 1989 when I stored it in a barn/shed on the east coast while I was stationed in Hawaii. It sat there for over 22 years until I "rescued" it for eventual restoration. After shipping it to the pacific northwest, it sat in my garage for 3 more years while I converted the garage into my mini-shop. I finally ran out of things to do in my attempts to procrastinate (out of fear I would be biting off more than I could chew) soooo... I'VE FINALLY BEGUN.

Here's what she looked like in 1979:

Here's where she was stored for so long:

It was almost like a tomb:

Rear brake was rusted so we improvised since there wasn't enough room to remove the wheel:

A 40 year old "50 footer" (or more) after 22 years entombed:

Intercity Lines sent a real nice rig to pick her up:

Since she wasn't running, they put her way forward on the upper deck:

Nice tie down method over the tires yields no damage: