Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

to change the color oh the car ?

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2013, 02:53 AM
mesh11
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default to change the color oh the car ?

hi ..

I am planing to buy a Corvette c3 and change it color to black .
what is the cost average ?

and Is there what should be done with the car's license?

What should I do?
Old 06-14-2013, 06:03 AM
dar322
Burning Brakes

Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
St. Jude Donor '12-'13

buy the car first. avg paint job cost maybe $7500, but if you take it to maaco, maybe $4000. not sure about your car license question. make sure you bring someone with you that has your best intentions first and foremost.
Old 06-14-2013, 06:27 AM
Summerfun
Race Director

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I'm no paint expert but what I have found is this.

The C3 has beautiful sharp lines. In order to bring those lines out to the eye the best way is to sand a C3 to factory fiberglass and then prime and paint.

If the car happened to have been painted a few times in the past those lines tend to get 'rounder' if you understand what I'm saying. Cheaper paint jobs will sand down the existing paint just enough to make it rough and paint over it, covering up underlying cracks and imperfections. These imperfections could possibly cause problems with your overlying new paint in the future.

Maybe others can chime in and clarify my amateur explanation or refute it for that matter. Either way, we all learn something new.
Old 06-14-2013, 07:08 AM
mesh11
2nd Gear

I mean, is it forbidden to change car color?

Do I have to do something towards the responsible authorities - the police - for example?
Old 06-14-2013, 07:15 AM
Roco71
Melting Slicks

In response to your color change.