Sponsored by:

Compression Testing a C3

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2013, 03:34 PM
loquinho
Instructor

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Default Compression Testing a C3

This is such a simple problem I feel bad asking for help on it, but it is what it is. I'm not a mechanic, and every time something breaks on my car, I get to learn a new automotive skill. Unfortunately, this means I'm constantly a newbie when it comes to car repairs, because usually the problem is something I haven't run into before.

I'm trying to diagnose a significant problem with the vette, and in my research I discovered I should run a compression test - to rule out a host of problems.

So I look at youtube for how to run a compression test, and I go out and get the kit from Pep Boys. I manage to get the spark plugs out despite the tight clearances (It only took me breaking two to learn that 1 - they're breakable, and 2 - you have to prevent any cross torquing when removing them). When I tried to put in the tester hose, however, I discovered that the portion of the threaded end that remains outside the spark plug hole is so shallow (and completely round) that it's impossible to get enough purchase on it to screw it in tight enough to perform the test. I managed to get it screwed into 3 cylinders (and I somehow got it severely stuck in cylinder #1 - it wasn't in that tight, but I couldn't get any purchase on it to get it out), and got pressure results of 60, 0, and 0. I really don't think my engine is THAT broken, so I'm guessing I'm not getting it screwed in tight enough for the cylinder to create pressure. I threaded it as tight as I could by hand with the 1/8" I had to grip it.

The engine won't turn on currently, so I wasn't able to bring it up to operating temperature before running the test. I'm not sure if that makes a difference, I'm just trying to give you guys all the information I have.