Sponsored by:

cut exhaust pipe-do I need splice or?

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2011, 08:16 PM
bhk2
Burning Brakes
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 58 Likes on 45 Posts

Default cut exhaust pipe-do I need splice or?

To remove my gas tank, I need to cut one side of the exhaust pipe. It is one long pipe and I know where to cut, but it is the reconnecting part of the job puzzling me.

Since I have no welding equip nor experience, I thought about using the Walker Exhaust 33978 - Walker Mega Clamp to re attach pipe.

I am thinking there needs to be a short splice and then connect the clamp, but don't know for sure. Anyone tried this approach?

1969 350 4 speed.

Old 12-21-2011, 08:26 PM
0Willcox Corvette
Former Vendor

Received 1,813 Likes on 1,458 Posts
St. Jude Donor '08-'09-'10-'11-'12-'13-'14-'15

The Walker Mega Clamp should hold fine. Some late model muffler kits come with these same clamps as a means of connecting the new muffler to the exhaust system.
Old 12-21-2011, 08:48 PM
bhk2
Burning Brakes
Support Corvetteforum!

Originally Posted by Willcox Corvette
The Walker Mega Clamp should hold fine. Some late model muffler kits come with these same clamps as a means of connecting the new muffler to the exhaust system.
Thanks, I'll order the clamp and not worry about extra pieces to finish the job.
Old 12-21-2011, 10:21 PM
Ray Y
Burning Brakes

Received 12 Likes on 2 Posts

A stainless steel "butt to butt" band clamp is another option that will also work fine. Check Jegs.
Old 12-22-2011, 08:06 PM
donnie1956
Burning Brakes

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Coupling joint can be bought at most auto parts stores. Just go the the exhaust section and you will find it and the clamps. Cheap fix.
Old 12-22-2011, 08:33 PM
scottyp99
Le Mans Master

Received 62 Likes on 52 Posts