Sponsored by:

75 or 78???

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2010, 10:51 PM
brhastings
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 75 or 78???

I am a Newb... getting ready to buy my first Vette!!!
I have found 2 that are reasonably priced and I like both of them.
The first is a red '75 with T-tops matching numbers (see pics in the craigs list add)
http://fortcollins.craigslist.org/cto/2089026955.html

The second is a white '78 with T-tops, 2nd engine, and the enterior is in terrible condition, it would likely need to be completely redone...
http://fortcollins.craigslist.org/cto/2088220700.html

The same guy owns both, and I think I could get the 78 for $3500 (it doesnt start right now, it acts like the distributor needs some work and the enterior is trashed), and could offer $5000 for the 75 (the front bumper was backed into and is slightly scratched and distorted, other than that it appears to be in great condition. it does have alot of screws in the front of the dash panels is this normal?)

how much would it cost me to completely replace the enterior in the 78?
how much would it cost to get the front bumper repared/replaced?
Do you guys see any huge problems or deal breakers on either one of these vette's? both have great frames, i didnt see any signs of rust anywhere... if you have any other questions ask away...
Old 12-09-2010, 11:34 PM
pauldana
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 396 Likes on 306 Posts

Hmmmmmm...... they are both probably going to cost you a bundle of $$$$ imho, it will be very easy to through $10,000 at ether one of them..they are both well over 30 years old and it is time for ....... well.... everything to be replaced... do you like working on cars? if so, your in the right place, but if you prefer to have someone else do it, be rich.