C3 General General C3 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Way to much fun... just ran my first autocross!!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2010, 08:30 AM
Frankenvette
Melting Slicks

Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts

Default Way to much fun... just ran my first autocross!!!

Last night my oldest son and I ran our first autocross. I can't completely explain the excitement we enjoyed but what a great time... especially spending it with my son. We showed up early for tech inspection and had no issues. We walked the track several times with some of the more experienced drivers and picked up some tips on how to drive the course. There is more to it than simply trying to stay between the cones, but in my case as a novice I simply wanted to stay between the cones.

There were all types of cars including several newer vettes, lots of miatas and subarus, bmw's, camaro's, honda's etc... I was the only old vette. We made our registration number our of blue painters tape. Not pretty but it worked.

I was a little nervous having never done anything like this. I really did not know what to expect as it relates to how the vette was going to perform. I kept thinking something was going to break mid run and I was going to hear a lot thunk or snap. I rebuilt the rear suspension but the front has never been touched. The ball joints are most likely shot, as are most of the bushings.

Anyway, she handled wonderfully. We sliced and diced our way thru the course with only one issue. When I made really sharp turns I stalled. I think it was the carb fuel bowl sloshing around. Needless to say it killed my times but oh well. We were having way to much fun to worry about our time. Even with the stalls I did not finish last in my class. I highly recommend trying an autocross to anyone. It is a great way to enjoy the fruits of our labor working on these old cars.

JIm

Last edited by Frankenvette; 10-14-2010 at 09:49 PM.
Old 10-14-2010, 09:10 AM
C3 4ME